London Symphony Orchestra / Sir Simon Rattle

Bernstein Centenary

16 December 2017 / 19:30

Sir Simon Rattle presents a double-bill of works by Leonard Bernstein, to celebrate the centenary of the Orchestra’s former President.

Rattle is joined by pianist Krystian Zimerman for the symphony inspired by W H Auden’s ambitious book-length poem, The Age of Anxiety, which Bernstein considered ‘one of the most shattering examples of virtuosity in the history of English poetry’. It’s an eclectic set of variations for piano and orchestra, following four strangers as they struggle to combat their loneliness and isolation in an increasingly industrialised world. 

One of Bernstein’s lesser-known musicals, Wonderful Town is nevertheless a swinging, bluesy, fun and uplifting piece, with five Tony Awards to its name. A sunny and good-humoured work, it tells the story of two sisters seeking success and bright lights from their basement apartment in New York City.

Programme & Performers

Bernstein Symphony No 2, ‘The Age Of Anxiety’ *
Bernstein Wonderful Town (concert version)

London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Krystian Zimerman piano *
Danielle de Niese Eileen
Nathan Gunn Bob Baker
Duncan Rock Wreck
London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey chorus director


why not try

The Tempest
30 Jun 17 - 18 Aug 17 / Theatre
Information info

Creative Careers: August Networking
9 Aug 17 / Frobisher Room 1, Level 4
Information info