London Symphony Orchestra / François-Xavier Roth

with Antoine Tamestit

23 April 2017 / 19:00

 Sold out

François-Xavier Roth returns to conduct the second set of concerts in his series After Romanticism, a carefully curated exploration of this significant period in music history. In 2016/17, he focuses on the music of Debussy and Bartók, two composers who radicalized the musical language of their predecessors to produce a brilliant and inventive style of their own.

Debussy’s Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune is an evocative and poetic opener that oozes the rich imagery of its source, a symbolist poem by Stéphane Mallarmé. Bartók’s Viola Concerto brings this oft-overlooked string instrument to centre-stage, showcasing the instrument and its capabilities in full, before the programme concludes with a bedrock piece of the 19th century: Bruckner’s Symphony No 4, the Romantic, filled to the brim with evocative images of love, nature and a simpler time.

Programme & Performers

Debussy Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune
Bartok Viola Concerto
Bruckner Symphony No 4

François-Xavier Roth conductor
Antoine Tamestit viola
London Symphony Orchestra

This concert will also be live streamed on the LSO's YouTube channel and

This event is part of:
London Symphony Orchestra 2016–17

Broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on Monday 24 April
Streamed live and on demand for three months by


why not try