London Symphony Orchestra / Pablo Heras-Casado

with Alisa Weilerstein

17 January 2016 / 19:00

 Sold out

Following his successful LSO debut in 2014, Pablo Heras-Casado returns to guide “incandescent” cellist Alisa Weilerstein through her own debut with the Orchestra.

For this occasion Alisa has chosen Elgar’s Cello Concerto – premiered by the LSO in 1919 – a contemplative and elegiac work which laments a lost world after World War I. In contrast Dvorák’s Seventh Symphony is sunny, warm-hearted and lyrical, and full of hope for his Czech homeland. Themes in Tchaikovsky’s Tempest Overture describe sections of the Shakespeare play.

Programme & Performers

Tchaikovsky Overture: The Tempest
Elgar Cello Concerto
Dvořák Symphony No 7

Pablo Heras-Casado conductor
Alisa Weilerstein cello
London Symphony Orchestra

This event is part of:
London Symphony Orchestra 2015-16


why not try

Another Kind of Life
28 Feb 18 - 27 May 18 / Art Gallery
Information info