BBC Symphony Orchestra/Oramo

21 May 2016 / 19:30

 Sold out

Sakari Oramo conducts two masterpieces from 1936, composed under the looming threat of war.

Vaughan Williams's plea for peace features Australian baritone Duncan Rock and the BBC Symphony Chorus, while Bartók’s fabulous, folk-inflected violin concerto is performed by the eloquent Alina Ibragimova. The evening opens with a premiere from the formidable Joseph Phibbs. ‘Phibbs’s sheer accomplishment as a composer is unmistakable. Every idea is telling, every phrase beautiful.’ Sunday Times

Programme & Performers

Joseph Phibbs new work (BBC co-commission: world premiere)
Bartok Violin Concerto No 2  
Vaughan Williams Dona nobis pacem  

BBC Symphony Orchestra
Sakari Oramo conductor
Alina Ibragimova violin
Sarah Fox soprano
Duncan Rock Baritone
BBC Symphony Chorus

6pm BBC Symphony Orchestra Plus Family,
Fountain Room
Bring your family along to this fun, interactive workshop and receive discounted tickets for the concert. The workshop will introduce you to the music you'll hear in the concert and is designed for families with children aged 8–16. Please see Ticket info for more details of how to book.

Part of BBC Symphony Orchestra 2015 - 16 Multibuy

Promoted by BBC Symphony Orchestra

Young Barbican
14-25? Over 50,000 tickets a year available at £5, £10 or £15

why not try

The Vulgar
13 Oct 16 - 5 Feb 17 / Art Gallery
Information info

Architecture on Stage: City Architects
6 Jun 16 / Frobisher Auditorium 1
Information info  Book tickets book

Identity in Britain Today
14 Jun 16 / Frobisher Auditorium 2
Information info