London Symphony Orchestra / Michael Tilson Thomas

with Yuja Wang

15 March 2015 / 19:30

 Sold out

The second of Michael Tilson Thomas ‘s birthday concerts. Britten’s atmospheric Four Sea Interludes preface another appearance by 26-year-old Yuja Wang, critically hailed as 'the most dazzlingly, uncannily gifted pianist in the concert world today'.

Russian piano music is central to her repertoire, and here she tackles Shostakovich’s lively First Piano Concerto, with its cheeky trumpet obbligato. Sibelius’s majestic Second Symphony provides a rousing conclusion to this celebratory occasion.

Programme & Performers

Britten Four Sea Interludes
Shostakovich Concerto No 1 for Piano, Trumpet and Strings
Sibelius Symphony No 2

Michael Tilson Thomas conductor
Yuja Wang piano
Philip Cobb trumpet
London Symphony Orchestra

This event is part of:
London Symphony Orchestra 2014–15


why not try

Too Young For What?
7 Oct 17 / Barbican Centre
Information info

Barbican Blocks
9 Feb 17 - 1 Sep 17 / Barbican Centre
Information info

Architecture on Stage: Angela Deuber
11 Sep 17 / Frobisher Auditorium 1
Information info