Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam / Jansons

Bruckner Symphony No 4

3 April 2014 / 19:30

£15-65 plus booking fee*

*£3 booking fee per online transaction, £4 by phone. No fee when tickets are booked in person. Click here for more information on booking fees

 Sold out

Mozart Violin Concerto in G major
Bruckner Symphony No 4 in E flat, Romantic

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam
Mariss Jansons
Frank Peter Zimmermann violin

The concert finishes at approximately 10pm

With each of Bruckner’s symphonies came an intensification of his vision – a sharper focusing of his aesthetic ideals and a honing of his orchestral craft. In the Fourth, he really came of age. In the symphony’s glowing first movement is a new-found confidence; in its solemn, statuesque Andante a knowing premonition of loss. Orchestral music doesn’t get more imposing, majestic or powerful than that from the pen of Anton Bruckner, played here in the first of three Bruckner concerts at the Barbican performed by what many consider to be the finest orchestra in the world, the Royal Concertgebouw

Other concerts in the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam's international associate residency:
4 Apr - Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam / Jansons with Truls Mørk
5 Apr - Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam / Jansons with Lars Vogt

RSVP on facebook here.

This event is part of:
All classical music events - 2013–2014 season
Barbican Presents 2013–2014

Produced by the Barbican


why not try

Basquiat: Boom for Real
21 Sep 17 - 28 Jan 18 / Art Gallery
Information info