Gewandhausorchester Leipzig / Chailly / Brahms Cycle

Barbican International Associate Residency

30 October 2013 / 19:30


£2 online booking fee, £3.50 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

 Sold out

Brahms Violin Concerto
Brahms Symphony No 4

Gewandhausorchester Leipzig
Riccardo Chailly
Leonidas Kavakos violin

Pre-concert performance
Milton Court Concert Hall, 6pm
Brahms String Quartet No 2
Gewandhaus Quartet

The concert finishes at approximately 10pm

Brahms’s Fourth Symphony is the most spiritual of his orchestral scores – the supreme achievement of his quest to wed discipline and emotion. This piece ends the orchestra's cycle of the composers symphonies and is joined by the only one of Brahms’s concertos that shares that autumnal poise, those golden-browns of resignation and the symphonic breadth that communicates everything Brahms held dear. Leonidas Kavakos joins the orchestra for this poignant conclusion to its four-concert portrait of the most exquisite craftsman ever to write for orchestra. 

Listen to Riccardo Chailly discuss the music of Brahms here.

RSVP on facebook here.

This event is part of:
All classical music events - 2013–2014 season
Barbican Presents 2013–2014

Produced by the Barbican


why not try

Basquiat: Boom for Real
21 Sep 17 - 28 Jan 18 / Art Gallery
Information info

Adès, Barry and Beethoven
23 May 18 / Milton Court Concert Hall
Information info