London Symphony Orchestra/Michael Tilson Thomas

UBS Soundscapes: MTT and Yo-Yo Ma

12 June 2013 / 19:30

£10 £15 £19.50 £27 £36

£2 online booking fee, £3.50 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

subject to availability
 sold out

Copland Inscape
Britten Symphony for Cello and Orchestra
Shostakovich Symphony No 5

Michael Tilson Thomas conductor
Yo-Yo Ma cello
London Symphony Orchestra

Cellist Peter Wispelway describes the opening scene of Britten’s Symphony for Cello and Orchestra as ‘practically a war zone’ for all its deep, dark orchestral colours. Shostakovich’s Fifth Symphony formed the composer’s ostensibly sincere apology to the Soviet government after he found himself branded an ‘enemy of the people’. At the symphony’s premiere Shostakovich noticed that some of the audience were weeping and he knew then that ‘they understood what was happening around them and they understood what the Fifth was about’.

Part of LSO 2012–2013 multibuy
Part of LSO 2012–2013
Part of All classical music events - 2012–2013 season

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra Ltd


Do Something Different: Other events on at the barbican
Barbican Open Salon: The Art of Being Alone
8 Mar 16 / Frobisher Auditorium 1
Information info  Book tickets book

Members' Private View of Strange and Familiar
22 Mar 16 - 7 Jun 16 / Art Gallery
Information info