London Symphony Orchestra/Michael Tilson Thomas

MTT and Yo-Yo Ma

9 June 2013 / 19:30

£10 £15 £19.50 £27 £36

£2 online booking fee, £3.50 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

 Sold out

Copland Orchestra Variations
Shostakovich Cello Concerto No 1
Copland Short Symphony (Symphony No 2)
Britten The Young Person's Guide to the Orchestra

Michael Tilson Thomas conductor
Yo-Yo Ma cello
London Symphony Orchestra

Copland’s Orchestral Variations dart, spin and spiral around a singular four-note motif. Cellist Mstislav Rostropovich, to whom Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto is dedicated, loved the work so much that he premiered it from memory it in just four days. Copland’s gleefully acerbic Short Symphony is fascinated by its own play around complex rhythms and textures. Britten’s The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra conducts a lightening tour around every section of the orchestra, each with its own strident personality.

Free pre-concert talk
6pm, Fountain Room (level G)
LSO Principal Flute Gareth Davies talks to Tommy Pearson about his new book The Show Must Go On, and the trials and tribulations of touring with an orchestra.

Artist Conversation: Michael Tilson Thomas
Fri 7 Jun 6.15pm, LSO St Luke's
> More info on the LSO website

Part of LSO 2012–2013 multibuy
Part of LSO 2012–2013
Part of All classical music events - 2012–2013 season

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra Ltd

London Symphony Orchestra

why not try

Maria Nepomuceno: Cosmic Teta
24 May 16 - 25 Jul 16 / Foyer, Level G
Information info

On the Twentieth Century
28 Jun 16 - 6 Jul 16 / Silk Street Theatre, Guildhall School
Information info  Book tickets book