London Symphony Orchestra/Valery Gergiev

Valery Gergiev: Brahms & Szymanowski

30 March 2013 / 19:30

£10 £15 £19.50 £27 £36

£2 online booking fee, £3.50 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

 Sold out

Szymanowski Stabat Mater
Brahms German Requiem

Valery Gergiev conductor
Cast includes:
Sally Matthews soprano
Ekaterina Gubanova mezzo-soprano
Christopher Maltman bass
Kostas Smoriginas bass
London Symphony Chorus
London Symphony Orchestra

Szymanowski’s Stabat Mater is derived from poet Józef Jankowski’s translation of the medieval poem about the grieving mother of Christ, which struck a deeply personal chord with Szymanowski following the months he spent consoling his sister after the death of her daughter. Brahms’ German Requiem forms a joint memorial to both his mother and his friend and mentor Robert Schumann. Brahms purposefully chose Biblical texts which utter words of consolation, displaying a very human response to the inevitability and sorrow of death.

Gerald Finley is suffering from a throat infection and has had to withdraw from the LSO concerts on 30 and 31 March. Christopher Maltman will now sing the baritone part in Brahms' German Requiem and Kostas Smoriginas will sing the baritone part in Szymanowski's Stabat Mater. We are very grateful to both artists for agreeing to step in at extremely short notice.

This event is part of:
LSO Discovery: Brahms Requiem Singing Day multibuy
LSO 2012–2013 multibuy
LSO 2012–2013
All classical music events - 2012–2013 season

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra Ltd


why not try