London Symphony Orchestra/Bernard Haitink

Beethoven Symphony No 7 - NB: Change of concerto (Multibuy available only when booking 8 concerts or more)

12 February 2013 / 19:30

£10 £15 £19.50 £27 £36

£2 online booking fee, £3.50 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

 Sold out

Britten Four Sea Interludes from 'Peter Grimes'
Mozart Piano Concerto No 17, K453
Beethoven Symphony No 7

Bernard Haitink conductor
Maria João Pires piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Taken from his opera Peter Grimes, Britten’s ‘Four Sea Interludes’ paint a portrait of the sea from the eerie calm of dawn to the overwhelming turbulence of the final storm. Mozart wrote his Piano Concerto No 17 for one of his most accomplished students, Barbara (‘Babette’) von Ployer and famously taught his pet starling to sing back the variation-theme of the finale. Beethoven’s Symphony No 7 plays out an increasing tension between dynamic, driving rhythms and static bass-note drones which fellow composer Richard Wagner hailed as ‘the apotheosis of the dance’.

Change of programme
At the request of the soloist the concerto being performed will now be Mozart’s Piano Concerto No 17 rather than Piano Concerto No 21 as advertised when booking first opened.
[Change announced 29 Aug 2012]

This event is part of:
LSO 2012–2013 multibuy
LSO 2012–2013
All classical music events - 2012–2013 season

Multi-buy discount only available when booking 8+ concerts

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra Ltd


why not try

The Big Barbican Adventure
25 Jan 16 - 31 Dec 17 / Barbican Open Spaces
Information info

The People's Forest
13 Oct 17 - 18 Mar 18 / Foyers
Information info

BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert
23 Feb 18 / LSO St Luke’s
Information info