Awakenings: A Kronos Quartet Residency

Awakening: A Musical Meditation on the Anniversary of 9/11

26 January 2012 / 19:30

£9 / 13 / 17 / 22.50 / 28

 Sold out


This event has now passed and tickets are no longer available.
Book tickets for the current event


An exceptional musical experience devised around Michael Gordon’s piece The Sad Park, inspired by recordings of New York school children’s reactions to the events of 9/11. The journey begins with a chance to explore music from outside the traditional string quartet realm – from Uzbekistan to Argentina, from Russia to Iraq and beyond – leading us to the morning of the attack; from the sudden shock to when the healing begins and a children’s choir appears…

Michael Gordon - The Sad Park performed by Kronos Quartet (excerpt) - Courtesy of Cantaloupe Music

The programme for the Kronos Quartet’s concert in the Barbican Hall on January 26th has changed slightly. As part of the Awakening programme, they will perform selections from Michael Gordon’s The Sad Park.

Dmitri Yanov-Yanovsky Awakening Uzbekistan
Unknown (arr. Ljova & Kronos) Oh Mother, the Handsome Man Tortures Me Iraq
Traditional (arr. Jacob Garchik) Lullaby Iran
Ram Narayan (arr. Kronos, transc. Ljova) Raga Mishra Bhairavi: Alap India
Einstürzende Neubauten (arr. Paola Prestini & Kronos) Armenia Germany [UK premiere]
John Oswald Spectre Canada
Michael Gordon Selections from The Sad Park United States
Part 1 two evil planes broke in little pieces and fire came
Part 4 and all the persons that were in the airplane died

Osvaldo Golijov & Gustavo Santaolalla Darkness 9/11 Argentina [UK premiere] (from the film 11’09”01)
Terry Riley One Earth, One People, One Love United States (from Sun Rings)
Traditional (arr. Kronos, transc. Ljova) Tusen Tankar (A Thousand Thoughts) Sweden
Aulis Sallinen (arr. Kronos) Winter Was Hard Finland with special guest New London Children’s Choir, Ronald Corp conductor.
Vladimir Martynov (re-scored for Kronos by Vladimir Martynov) The Beatitudes Russia [UK premiere]

Performed without intermission and played without pause.

David Harrington on Awakening: A Musical Meditation on the Anniversary of 9/11

The Kronos Quartet

David Harrington
John Sherba violin
Hank Dutt viola
Jeffrey Zeigler cello

London Children’s Choir 
Ronald Corp conductor

Following their focus on American music, for concert two of their visit the Kronos Quartet turn their insatiably explorative appetites further afield: to Uzbekistan and the expressive music of Dmitri Yanov-Yanovsky, to Canada (ok, not so far from America, but John Oswald's intriguing work is a delightful journey musically), to the evocative, folklore-inspired music of Finnish composer Aulis Sallinen, to the eclecticism of Argentinian Osvaldo Golijov, as well as touching on Sweden, India, Russia, Germany and other countries and cultures en route. What links it all is the Kronos Quartet's unrivalled ability to embody the many and varied musical traditions they embrace with integrity, and their evidently deep respect for and belief in all they present.

Kronos Quartet: Lullaby (Ramadan Nights Festival 2008 at the Barbican)

'Full marks to the Kronos Quartet for championing countries more known in the West for their instability than for their rich musical cultures.' BBC Music Review

'Kronos played with awesome intensity throughout.' New York Times

RSVP to this event on Facebook here!

This event is part of:
Summer Music 2012
Classical Music all events 2011-12
Great Performers 2011 - 2012
Awakenings: A Kronos Quartet Residency

Produced by the Barbican


why not try

The Town Hall Affair
21 - 24 Jun 18 / Theatre
Information info

Basquiat: Boom for Real
21 Sep 17 - 28 Jan 18 / Art Gallery
Information info

Too Young For What?
7 Oct 17 / Barbican Centre
Information info