London Symphony Orchestra / Valery Gergiev

Tchaikovsky Symphony No 6 ('Pathetique')

23 February 2012 / 19:30

£10 / 15 / 19.50 / 27 / 35

 Sold out

Britten Four Sea Interludes from ‘Peter Grimes’
Shostakovich Violin Concerto No 1
Tchaikovsky Symphony No 6 (‘Pathétique’)

Valery Gergiev conductor
Sarah Chang violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Taken from his opera Peter Grimes, Britten’s Four Sea Interludes paint a portrait of the sea from the eerie calm of dawn to the overwhelming turbulence of the final storm. Shostakovich famously encoded his name into the Scherzo of his Violin Concerto No 1 using his DSCH motif (Dimitri SCHostakovich) as an act of defiance against a repressive State. The ‘Pathétique’ of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No 6 does not in fact mean ‘arousing pity’, but should be understood from its Russian meaning as simply ‘passionate’.

Pre-concert performance
Guildhall Artists at the Barbican
6–6.45pm, Barbican Hall
Free entry
Shostakovich 2 Pieces for Octet performed by Giovanni Guzzo (violin), Roberto Gonzalez (violin), Viktor Stenhjem (violin), Pablo Hernan (violin), Adam Newman (viola), Tetsuumi Nagata (viola), Brian O’Kane (cello), Timothy Lowe (cello)
Tchaikovsky Souvenir de Florence performed by Giovanni Guzzo (violin), Roberto Gonzalez (violin), Adam Newman (viola), Tetsuumi Nagata (viola), Brian O’Kane (cello), Timothy Lowe (cello)

This event is part of:
LSO 2011-2012
Gergiev's Russians
Classical Music all events 2011-12

Multi-buy discount only available when booking 8+ concerts

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra Ltd


why not try

Basquiat: Boom for Real
21 Sep 17 - 28 Jan 18 / Art Gallery
Information info

New Scientist Presents: The Dreamers' Club
29 Jun 17 / Frobisher Auditorium 1
Information info