London Symphony Orchestra / Nikolaj Znaider

Music by Wagner, Brahms and Schumann

30 October 2011 / 19:30

£10 / 15 / 19.50 / 27 / 35

 Sold out

Wagner Overture: Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg
Schumann Piano Concerto
Brahms Symphony No 4

Nikolaj Znaider conductor
Saleem Abboud Ashkar piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Wagner’s Overture introduces the majestic, lyrical themes of his opera based on the comedic happenings of a guild of Master Singers. Schumann’s Concerto was initially conceived as a short fantasia, written for his wife Clara – he expanded it into this joyously melodic concerto, which Clara premiered to immediate success. Urgent violins form an abrupt opening to Brahms’ fourth, and final, symphony, which swings from being at once passionate, to mournful, joyous and majestic.

The Lord Mayor's Concert 2011

Artists in conversation
Mon 31 Oct 11am, LSO St Luke's
Nikolaj Znaider in conversation with his conducting mentor, Sir Colin Davis, sharing their experiences of the world of conducting.
Full details on the LSO website

This event is part of:
LSO 2011-2012
Classical Music all events 2011-12

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra Ltd


why not try

6 - 18 Nov 17 / Theatre
Information info

LSO Discovery Day: Prokofiev
29 Oct 17 / LSO Discovery Event
Information info

Basquiat: Boom for Real
21 Sep 17 - 28 Jan 18 / Art Gallery
Information info