Total Immersion: Brian Ferneyhough

BBC Symphony Orchestra / Brabbins

26 February 2011 / 19:00

£8 / 12 / 16 / 20 / 24

Save money and guarantee entry to all events with a Total Immersion: Brian Ferneyhough Day Pass. There is a choice of pass, reflecting the range of ticket prices for the evening concert. Available by telephone or in person only.
Day Pass £16 / 19 / 22 / 26 / 29

 Sold out

Brian Ferneyhough La Terre est un homme
Brian Ferneyhough Carceri d’invenzione III
Brian Ferneyhough Missa Brevis
Brain Ferneyhough Plötzlichkeit (UK premiere)

BBC Symphony Orchestra
Martyn Brabbins
James Morgan conductor
BBC Singers

All pieces to be introduced by Julian Anderson and Brian Ferneyhough
Tonight’s Total Immersion concert spans the broad gamut of Ferneyhough’s invention, from the Missa brevis for 12 solo singers of 1969 to the UK premiere of Plötzlichkeit , a 20-minute masterpiece for large orchestra. The programme also includes a rare chance to hear the third part of his Carceri d’Invenzione cycle, a seminal work of the 1980s inspired by Piranesi’s etchings of imagined dungeons and infernal places of imprisonment. Discover the multiform artistic influences and ideas behind the work of a composer who represents the antithesis of the predictable, the enemy of the routine.

This event is part of:
10 / 11 Season Classical concerts
Total Immersion: Brian Ferneyhough
BBC Symphony Orchestra 2010 - 2011

Promoted by BBC Symphony Orchestra


why not try

Another Kind of Life
28 Feb 18 - 27 May 18 / Art Gallery
Information info

The Big Barbican Adventure
25 Jan 16 - 31 Dec 17 / Barbican Open Spaces
Information info