London Symphony Orchestra / Bernard Haitink

NB change of soloist and programme

16 June 2011 / 19:30

£8 £14 £19 £25 £32

 Sold out

Mozart Piano Concerto No 27, K595
Bruckner Symphony No 4

Bernard Haitink conductor
Maria Joćo Pires piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Mozart's final piano concerto is one of his most personal, its noble and restrained lyricism giving it an air of wistful nostalgia. Hunting horns provide the dominant note in Bruckner’s bucolic symphony, premiered in 1874. His scenario imagined a medieval hunting scene – cantering into the forest, encountering mysterious rural romance, and ending with a folk dance finale.

Change of soloist and programme
At short notice, Murray Perahia is indisposed and can no longer appear on 14 and 16 June to perform the Schumann Piano Concerto. We are delighted that Maria Joćo Pires has agreed to step in, and will perform Mozart’s Piano Concerto No 27 (K595).

This event is part of:
10 / 11 Season Classical concerts
LSO 2010-2011 Multi-buy
LSO 2010-2011

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra Ltd


why not try

Another Kind of Life
28 Feb 18 - 27 May 18 / Art Gallery
Information info

6 - 18 Nov 17 / Theatre
Information info