London Symphony Orchestra / Antonio Pappano

15 December 2010 / 19:30

£8 £14 £19 £25 £32

 Sold out

Ligeti Concert Romanesc
Bruch Violin Concerto No 1
Rimsky-Korsakov Scheherezade

Antonio Pappano conductor
Midori violin
London Symphony Orchestra

The tang of Hungarian folk music can be heard in Ligeti’s Concert Românesc (1951), a relatively early work with the influence of Bartók. There are more Hungarian influences in Bruch’s much-loved Violin Concerto (1868), especially its exhilarating dancing conclusion, so different from the solemn opening movement. Rimsky-Korsakov looks further afield in Scheherazade (1888). This ravishing piece was inspired by tales from the Arabian Nights, and by the story-spinning heroine at its centre.

Pre-concert performance: Guildhall Artists at the Barbican
6–6.45pm, Barbican Hall
Ligeti Horn Trio performed by Jenna Sherry (violin), Alex Edmundson (horn) and Thomas Besnard (piano), and Piano Etudes (selection) performed by Jamie Bergin (piano)
Free entry

Promoted by London Symphony Orchestra

This event is part of:
Christmas at the Barbican
10 / 11 Season Classical concerts
LSO 2010-2011 Multi-buy
LSO 2010-2011


why not try

Basquiat: Boom for Real
21 Sep 17 - 28 Jan 18 / Art Gallery
Information info

Trajal Harrell
29 Jul 17 / Art Gallery
Information info

Yto Barrada
7 Feb 18 - 20 May 18 / Curve Gallery
Information info